Tears and Rain

“How I wish I could surrender my soul;
Shed the clothes that become my skin;
See the liar that burns within my needing.
How I wish I’d chosen darkness from cold.
How I wish I had screamed out loud,
Instead I’ve found no meaning.

I guess it’s time I run far, far away; find comfort in pain,
All pleasure’s the same: it just keeps me from trouble.
Hides my true shape, like Dorian Gray.
I’ve heard what they say, but I’m not here for trouble.
It’s more than just words: it’s just tears and rain.

How I wish I could walk through the doors of my mind;
Hold memory close at hand,
Help me understand the years.
How I wish I could choose between Heaven and Hell.
How I wish I would save my soul.
I’m so cold from fear.

I guess it’s time I run far, far away; find comfort in pain,
All pleasure’s the same: it just keeps me from trouble.
Hides my true shape, like Dorian Gray.
I’ve heard what they say, but I’m not here for trouble.
Far, far away; find comfort in pain.
All pleasure’s the same: it just keeps me from trouble.
It’s more than just words: it’s just tears and rain.

Tears and Rain.

Tears and Rain.

Far, far away; find comfort in pain,
All pleasure’s the same: it just keeps me from trouble.
It’s more than just words: it’s just tears and rain.”

OMG I adore that song!! I have since the beginning of the year and still do!! Plus the singer is British so he has a cute accent!! The song is pretty depressing it’s basically saying that if you hate yourself all you can do is cry about it (well at least for me) “Find comfort in rain’.

The song does a comparison with Dorian Gray which is you haven’t read or heard about the book “The picture of Dorian Gray”  is about a guy who had this portrait made of himself. The portrait was made to stop Dorian Gray from worrying about his looks but it ends up destroying him. Instead of having Dorian Gray age and become old, the painted version of him does and he ends up falling in love with himself. At the end Dorian Gray stabs the portrait with a knife and he is found just like the man that was on the portrait, old and wasted.

126088_460s_large

Tumblr_lub0r06qbm1r2sbo5o1_500_large

Leave a Reply

